Looking back over the spread of post for the last couple of months there is a part of me that wonders why I bother to go away. The three periods of a week without a post indicates that I have been unable to find the time or space to be creative because I have been recovering from too much stimulation and/or illness. There have also been periods where I find myself with nothing to say or think and then it has been natural for me to look forward to new experiences because then,  I will be inspired to write about something. There must be a happy medium between these “no experience to write about” and “too much experience to write” extremes but I have yet to find the magic formula if one even exists.

The other issue I find difficult is that I seem to need to write about an experience whilst it is fresh in my mind. If days go by, then it feels that I lose a spark of something. A spark of what? Well I don’t know. Is it enthusiasm? Belief in my ability to write? Perhaps the joy of reliving a fresh memory and discovering more about the event and me? I very much believe in letting the words flow out of my consciousness so perhaps leaving it a few days allows the flow to become clogged or loose direction. What seemed like a good idea trickles into nothing. I do wonder whether I will get to the point where I will be repeating something I have written before but forgotten (will I never learn perhaps?).

I have pinned my hopes on new experiences gaining new insights into the present and the past (possibly the future?) but as shown recently, new experiences come at a cost. Yesterday’s post on loops however shows that creativity isn’t dead so perhaps I need to keep a certain level of randomness here to provide new ways of looking at my life.

Of course I could be over thinking all this because my intention was actually to list some positive experiences that have happened from my trips to Barcelona and Edinburgh because like most humans I have a tendency to dwell on the difficulties and not celebrate the successes. I hope I can come up with something!

Things I liked about Barcelona:

  • I caught up with my friend and her family
  • Fresh mangoes on forks and cherries by the box load
  • Amazing sea food
  • Outside eating
  • Visiting Casa Batllo and Park Guell
  • Wandering around the Barri Gotic
  • Paddling in the sea
  • Being (very) challenged by the art of Joan Miro
  • Taking photos of flowing water in Jardins de la Tamarita
  • Seeing a sabre fencing tournament and learning something about the scoring system
  • It was sunny and warm

Things I liked about Edinburgh:

  • Catching up with family and friends
  • Going out for lunch at The Dome
  • Seeing “Dirty Dancing” on an outdoor screen in St Andrews Square
  • Eating some wonderful Italian food
  • Celebrating birthdays
  • It was sunny and warm

I think that will do.

