On the suggestion of my wife I am been trying to find my core values. So how does one go about finding the things that are the most important drivers to our thinking? Well I had a look on the internet and one can find various value lists but I didn’t find those helpful. Another site suggested writing down the words that are most important in my life, but I think that requires more emotional touchy-feely intelligence than I have so I decided to be logical about it. I wrote down a list of things I like then looked at the reasons behind why I liked them.

Here’s the list:

  • Being listened to
  • Cuddling my dog
  • Being touched
  • Quiet to think in
  • The natural ecosystem
  • Tasty food
  • Keeping fit
  • Being outside
  • Seeing the seasons unfold
  • Skiing
  • Cycling
  • Capturing my view of the world
  • Understanding myself and how I interact with others
  • Watching films that give me an emotional push
  • Improving communication between people
  • Showing respect to the dead and the elderly
  • Being accepted and being recognised as different
  • Supporting others
  • Reusing and avoiding waste
  • Trying new things
  • Everybody having the same access to the fundamentals in life
  • Priorities based on needs
  • Balancing quality and value
  • Driving my new car
  • Being in control of my decisions
  • Solving puzzles
  • Being transported to a new place by a book
  • Singing and dancing
  • Playing music

No doubt this list will get added to, but it is a beginning. The next post I am going to look at possible reasons why I like these activities.

 

