One of my friends once commented that the thing she liked most about my blog was the imaginary conversation with a friend over coffee and lists. I have actually forgotten about the former until I started writing this so perhaps I need to update that conversation. However for the moment, as I just said to my dog, “there are too many things to do Bob”, so I thought I would make a list, then I thought why not put that up on my blog rather than a scrap of paper that will get lost.

So here goes:

  • Water plants
  • Brush dog
  • Feed dog
  • Walk dog
  • Arrange for dog’s injections
  • Tidy bedroom
  • Put clothes away
  • Cut hair
  • Hang up first wash
  • Put second wash on
  • Find time to explore thoughts around yesterday
  • Go swimming or just do some exercise
  • Read detective book
  • Pick garden fruit
  • Pay credit card bill
  • Catch up on accounts
  • Think about Canadian trip
  • What to do with dog during Canadian trip!
  • Ski trip with kids?
  • Relax you have nothing on today!

And it is the last item that sums up my struggle. Today is the first day this week where there is no agenda, so I feel I should be able to do what I want. However life isn’t that selfish so I will try to juggle my needs with others. It would help if I could reframe some of these things so that they weren’t chores but pleasures. I miss the time I had in Mallorca and I hate having to organise things.

Maybe there are too many things to do, but I suspect all I really mean is that I don’t want to do any of them. It all feels rather pathetic when I look at the list, time to put the overwhelmed feeling aside and just get on with it. I will aim to do five things, I know I will feel better for it.

