Today is a first full day back from holiday and like most people (well my wife and I at least) I am feeling rather down. I guess responsibility has descended and the free life of a nomad has ended. In a sense I have an extra holiday at home to transition between the two states because this is a day off for me. I usually write more on my days off but today has been a struggle with depression. I’ve been trying to write something on transplants but it doesn’t seem to be happening yet so instead I thought I would remind myself what helps me when I am feeling down.

Things that help me when I am feeling depressed:

  • Getting out of bed and having a shower
  • Brushing my teeth
  • Wearing clean clothes
  • Brushing my beard
  • Applying my medications
  • Cleaning my glasses
  • Walking the dog
  • Taking a photo of something that catches my eye
  • Making a tick list of things to do
  • Ticking off things on the list
  • Putting a clothes wash on
  • Hanging the clothes up
  • Providing a basic meal for my family
  • Watering the plants
  • Writing about anything

Ways of spending time when I am depressed:

  • Trying to photo bumble bees
  • Singing along to my favourite songs
  • Reading a book
  • Doing some weeding in the garden
  • Listening to Radio Scotland or Radio 4
  • Going food shopping
  • Getting out for a bike ride
  • Playing music with others
  • Making some scones
  • Going to the garden centre and identifying bee friendly plants
  • Tidying up some of my things
  • Playing challenging online games with friends
  • Meeting up for coffee with friends
  • Brushing the dog
