It’s rather warm outside for Scotland, 26 degrees centigrade with not much wind. I am sitting in the car outside a Park n Ride in Edinburgh waiting for my daughter to touch down at the airport. Her flight is arriving from Paris but it is late hence why I am hanging around. Once upon a time, you could hang outside the airport terminal, but those days are long gone. Even getting near the terminal cost money these days, one pound for the drop off point but heaven forbid you spend more than ten minutes in that zone because the costs multiple up quickly.

Driving down to Edinburgh was not as bad as I feared. Apart from queues to get over the Forth Bridge (which enables one to get a few glimpses of the new Queensferry bridge construction) it was all very smooth; well apart from the few “must get home as soon as possible” company car drivers which cause concertinas by constantly accelerating and braking. I am tired though, and I really could do with an ice cream.

Apparently the aircraft has arrived according to Google but not according to FlightAware; there is an 18 minute gap between the two. I’ve sent a text describing where I want to pick them up so now it is a matter of waiting for a reply. Other cars have come and gone from this layby, there was a taxi just now which suggests to me it is a good place to hang out. I can’t see any signs saying that I shouldn’t be parking here, but who knows? At least it is after six so there is less likelihood of patrols now.

I wonder how many more times I will be acting as chauffeur for my kids to this airport? I guess it depends and where everybody lives. If they live abroad (like England?) then I suppose it is more likely but if we move to Edinburgh, as is possible then I would expect them to get the public transport to us. Mind you when we lived in Portobello decades ago, it used to cost over £20 to get a taxi to the airport, I wonder how much it is now? Perhaps Uber has reduced prices though? I guess that could be another source of income if we lived in Edinburgh (assuming we still have a car).

I guess the main thing that would suffer if we moved to the city would be the ability to garden and cycling (but not at the same time). We might have a garden in Edinburgh but a lot of places don’t and to be honest I can’t let it get untidy if I don’t have one. (FlightAware now says the plane landed 9 minutes after Google). Cycling though is another matter. Yes you can cycle in Edinburgh, and I have done so but the traffic, cobble stones, and sea all restrict the fun and access to the countryside. I would like to cycle over the road bridge though. There are also cycle paths, probably more now than in my day, but stone throwing and broken glass was also a feature of these which meant cycling on the road was safer. Well safer until you get knocked off, roundabouts being a particularly dangerous spot in my experience. There are greater opportunities for culture and education, I wonder how much we would actually do in reality? Grass is greener and all that.

There’s the text. Time to be gone.

